Atlanta BeltLine Awarded Olmsted Medal from American Society of Landscape Architects

On June 13th, the American Society of Landscape Architects announced its 2017 Honorees and among the list of recipients were Atlanta BeltLine, Inc. and the Atlanta BeltLine Partnership. The honorees are selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees and the recognition represents the highest awards ASLA presents each year. Atlanta BeltLine, Inc. (ABI) and the Atlanta BeltLine Partnership (ABP) will jointly receive the Olmsted Medal, which recognizes individuals, organizations, agencies or programs for environmental leadership, vision and stewardship. The Medal honors Frederick Law Olmsted, considered the founder of American landscape architecture and steward of the built and natural environment. 

“We are excited for the Atlanta BeltLine to join the prestigious list of recipients of the Olmsted Medal,” said Paul Morris, President and CEO of Atlanta BeltLine, Inc. “Leadership and support for the Atlanta BeltLine from Mayor Kasim Reed and so many others over more than a decade has put Atlanta on the path to sustainability in a way that will ensure affordability, mobility and opportunity for everyone.”

“It is an honor to be recognized by the ASLA with the Olmsted Medal,” said Rob Brawner, Executive Director of the Atlanta BeltLine Partnership.  Ongoing public, private, non-profit, and community partnership, continue to be instrumental in shaping the Atlanta BeltLine and a more connected future for our city.”

Olmsted Medal recipients are selected on the basis of their commitment to safeguarding our nation’s heritage. The nominee’s work may take the form of policy or action, embodying the commitment to stewardship of the land and quality of life.

The Executive Committee of the ASLA reviews all nominations from across the country and forwards nominees to the Board of Trustees for final selection. The Board selects the medal recipient by secret ballot from among the nominees. In their June 13 announcement, the Board of Trustees stated that they considered, “ABI and ABP a highly effective team in the advancement and implementation of the Atlanta BeltLine project” and “as the largest public project of its kind in the country, the BeltLine and its leadership have proven the transformative role this project has played, and will continue to play, in the future of Atlanta.”

The medal recipient is notified by the ASLA president and invited to attend the ASLA Annual Meeting where the medal will be awarded at the President’s dinner on October 23 in Los Angeles.

Notable past recipients include:

  • 2006   Richard M. Daley, Former Mayor of Chicago
  • 2003   Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.
  • 2001   President Jimmy Carter & Rosalynn Carter
  • 1993   The Trust for Public Land
  • 1992   Former Vice President Al Gore
  • 1991   The Nature Conservancy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *